Author Topic: Tornado Booster on an SD MK II?  (Read 4417 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ukuma

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • location: Florida
Tornado Booster on an SD MK II?
« on: September 13, 2011, 03:29:24 AM »
I was just curious, are these two products good bed-fellows? Has anyone tried this combo? Is there any risk to either products or the user if used together? If this is possible I would love to put a booster on my shiney new SD safe in the knowledge that it wont blow up in my face (lol) or wreck my beautiful new mod.
There are only 10 kinds of people in the world, those who can read binary and those who can't.

Offline Customer Service Rep (UK)

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1478
  • Karma: +6/-0
  • location: Blackburn, Lancashire, England
    • Totally Wicked UK
Re: Tornado Booster on an SD MK II?
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2011, 05:11:06 AM »
Hi Ukuma,

We will get this tested today and get back to you :)

Thanks,
Kirsty

Offline cath77

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1206
  • Karma: +0/-1
  • location: Romford
Re: Tornado Booster on an SD MK II?
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2011, 08:00:07 AM »
I believe Prof Beard uses one on his SDs so i think you are safe  ;)

Offline Ukuma

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • location: Florida
Re: Tornado Booster on an SD MK II?
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2011, 02:35:39 PM »
Thanks Kristy, keep me posted, I would love to run my SD at 4.7 volts! Look forward to hearing back from you.
There are only 10 kinds of people in the world, those who can read binary and those who can't.

Offline Kane2283

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 147
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • location: Moline, IL
Re: Tornado Booster on an SD MK II?
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2011, 07:09:27 PM »
Ya I have used mine on my SD for a few weeks now + had no problems.
GL + Happy Vaping

Offline Ukuma

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • location: Florida
Re: Tornado Booster on an SD MK II?
« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2011, 09:42:02 PM »
Thanks Kane for the reassurance, looks like I'll be buying a booster when they are back in stock.  ;D How well does it perform? I'd imagine its a marked increase.
There are only 10 kinds of people in the world, those who can read binary and those who can't.

Offline Kane2283

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 147
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • location: Moline, IL
Re: Tornado Booster on an SD MK II?
« Reply #6 on: September 13, 2011, 10:43:48 PM »
They haven't been in stock yet,,,,,think they were saying 20sep?? it was going on sale. I love it,,,on the SD as some other people will tell ya fully charged It's sposed to be round 4.2 V. Though as the batt dies the volts drop off also. From what I've noticed is that you can can keep that fully charged vape going quite alot longer on the battery. I think it was Darth saying that he had gotten a earlier version of the booster + it did not work on his SD. So it's just 1 of those things you know.
GL + Happy Vaping

Offline Customer Service Rep (UK)

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1478
  • Karma: +6/-0
  • location: Blackburn, Lancashire, England
    • Totally Wicked UK
Re: Tornado Booster on an SD MK II?
« Reply #7 on: September 14, 2011, 09:37:12 AM »
Hi all,

We can't see there being a problem using the booster with the SD.

:)

Offline lordy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 710
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • location: Cheltenham, UK
  • Steve
Re: Tornado Booster on an SD MK II?
« Reply #8 on: September 14, 2011, 11:13:46 AM »
Wooohooo!!! Will be pocket diving again accordingly ;)

Offline @longlast

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • location: Where there's a welcome in the hillside
  • Tiz great to vape
Re: Tornado Booster on an SD MK II?
« Reply #9 on: October 06, 2011, 02:07:35 AM »
They haven't been in stock yet,,,,,think they were saying 20sep?? it was going on sale. I love it,,,on the SD as some other people will tell ya fully charged It's sposed to be round 4.2 V. Though as the batt dies the volts drop off also. From what I've noticed is that you can can keep that fully charged vape going quite alot longer on the battery. I think it was Darth saying that he had gotten a earlier version of the booster + it did not work on his SD. So it's just 1 of those things you know.

My booster which arrived yesterday doesn't work on my Screwdriver 

Offline Kane2283

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 147
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • location: Moline, IL
Re: Tornado Booster on an SD MK II?
« Reply #10 on: October 06, 2011, 04:50:00 AM »
Hmm,, I dunno why it doesn't work on your's longlast. As the v2 booster does work on the SD. You can tell the v1 from v2 as v1 the dial high volt side was left + v2 is right. Not saying anything 1 way or the other, just letting you know what I know. Hope it get's fixed up for you.
GL + Happy Vaping

Offline @longlast

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • location: Where there's a welcome in the hillside
  • Tiz great to vape
Re: Tornado Booster on an SD MK II?
« Reply #11 on: October 06, 2011, 05:00:09 AM »
 :) Kane - do you mean the dial on v1 would turn anti-clockwise for high volt and v2 turns clockwise for high volt? Mine turns clockwise for high

Offline Kane2283

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 147
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • location: Moline, IL
Re: Tornado Booster on an SD MK II?
« Reply #12 on: October 06, 2011, 05:03:48 AM »
Yep exactly anti for v1. Clockwise for v2.  Like I said I have no clue why it's not workin for ya as it works on my SD.

Hope it gets sorted out for you.
GL + Happy Vaping

Offline @longlast

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • location: Where there's a welcome in the hillside
  • Tiz great to vape
Re: Tornado Booster on an SD MK II?
« Reply #13 on: October 06, 2011, 05:05:51 AM »
Thanks  :) I am half afraid to try it on my Screwdriver again in case I damage it, I am just using it on my Tornado now :-\

Offline Horsemen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2222
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • location: Erie, PA.
  • U.S. Army Medic 1968-1971- May We Never Forget!!!
Re: Tornado Booster on an SD MK II?
« Reply #14 on: October 06, 2011, 02:26:07 PM »
Just pulled this off another thread

the battery needs to be in the SD with the positive terminal connecting to the spring in the top half of the SD body.


Even A Broken Clock Works Twice A Day!!!!

Offline @longlast

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • location: Where there's a welcome in the hillside
  • Tiz great to vape
Re: Tornado Booster on an SD MK II?
« Reply #15 on: October 07, 2011, 01:35:46 AM »
Just pulled this off another thread

the battery needs to be in the SD with the positive terminal connecting to the spring in the top half of the SD body.



Yes  :) that was the brilliant Astricks sorting my problem out for me,  :) your all so helpful here, thankyou

Offline yaglej

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Tornado Booster on an SD MK II?
« Reply #16 on: October 21, 2011, 06:13:35 PM »
Okay, I've read the thread so far and now I'm glad I haven't ordered the eGo Booster YET, though I still really want one.

I too have an SD MKII and have been reading other forums and FAQs as well.

Sounds like some testing has been successful and others just failures.  One of the points mentioned in a FAQ was to use an IMR High Drain LiMn 18350 battery.  Can anyone confirm what types of batteries were used in these tests with the SD MKII?

Also, I have one of the aluminum colored 901 to 510 adapters that came with my kit.  The 901 to 510 adapters that come with the Tornado Tanks look like copper.  Is there a difference in length that might make keep the eGo Booster from making a full connection?

Okay TEAM, there's the questions.  Help make me a happier vaporer...   :D

Offline cath77

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1206
  • Karma: +0/-1
  • location: Romford
Re: Tornado Booster on an SD MK II?
« Reply #17 on: October 21, 2011, 06:25:32 PM »
I believe you need the longer adapter that is with the kit :)

Offline Astrecks

  • Administrator
  • Elite Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6774
  • Karma: +22/-0
  • location: Manchester UK
    • Forum Guidelines
Re: Tornado Booster on an SD MK II?
« Reply #18 on: October 21, 2011, 06:33:58 PM »
The Tornado Booster works with the SD using the standard ICR 900mah 18350 battery, but you will need to get this adapter:

http://www.totallywicked-eliquid.com/products/tornado-tank-ecig/sd-mkii-901-510-tank-conversion-kit-product.html (not available without the Tank atomiser)

It is longer than the standard 901 to 510 adapter.
Happy Vaping!!!  Jeff

Offline StevieD

  • Totally Wicked Review Panelist
  • Elite Hero Member
  • ************
  • Posts: 6109
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • location: Bristol UK
  • My friends call me Modo
Re: Tornado Booster on an SD MK II?
« Reply #19 on: October 21, 2011, 06:38:38 PM »
Hiya yaglej, welcome back to the forum. Yep, Cath's right, the standard 901-510 adapter isn't long enough to connect anything with a Tornado type 'skirted' fitting (Like the booster, Tornado Tank atties etc) to an SD MkII. The Tank adapter is about 25% longer than the standard adapters.


EDIT:- Astrecks Gonzales beat me to that, but the welcome is there as well   ;D
« Last Edit: October 21, 2011, 06:40:52 PM by StevieD »

Offline Astrecks

  • Administrator
  • Elite Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6774
  • Karma: +22/-0
  • location: Manchester UK
    • Forum Guidelines
Re: Tornado Booster on an SD MK II?
« Reply #20 on: October 21, 2011, 07:20:54 PM »
Stevie Gonzales beat me on another post though, lol ;)
Happy Vaping!!!  Jeff

Offline yaglej

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Tornado Booster on an SD MK II?
« Reply #21 on: October 24, 2011, 05:34:02 PM »
Awesome answers and assists.  Thanks to all and happy vaping.